Emblem Sri Lanka
ශ්‍රී ජයවර්ධනපුර මහා රෝහල ஸ்ரீ ஜெயவர்த்தனபுரா பொது மருத்துவமனை Sri Jayewardenepura General Hospital



Professor Shanthilal Devapriya Jayaratne
Designation Chairman, Sri Jayewardenepura General Hospital
Qualification MBBS(Col), MD(Col), MRCP(UK), FRCP(Lond), FCCP(Fellow of Ceylon College of Physicians), FCGP(Fellow of College of General Practitioners)

Professor S.D. Jayaratne was born in 1951 and educated at Nalanda College, Colombo. After graduating as MBBS from Faculty of Medicine, University of Colombo in 1975, he underwent overseas training in U.K. and qualified as a Member of the Royal College of Physicians (MRCP-UK) and subsequently elected as a Fellow of Royal College of Physicians, London (FRCP-Lond). He is also a Board Certified General Physician of Post Graduate Institute of Medicine, University of Colombo. He started his career as a Senior Lecturer in North Colombo Medical College and later at Faculty of Medical Sciences, University of Sri Jayewardenepura. During this period, he was elected as the Head and Professor, Department of Medicine, University of Sri Jayewardenepura. He has served as the Chairman, Board of Study in Medicine, PGIM, University of Colombo and also elected as the Chairman of the Board of Management at PGIM, University of Colombo. He is a former President of the Ceylon College of Physicians in its Jubilee Year and has served as Chairman, State Pharmaceutical Corporation (SPC) and State Pharmaceutical Manufacturing Corporation (SPMC). He is a honorary Visiting Physician to the Police Hospital, Colombo.

Permanent Director/CEO

Dr. Rathnasiri A Hewage
Designation Director, Sri Jayewardenepura General Hospital
Qualification MBBS, MSc (Med Admin) MD (Med Admin) MCMA (SL), DIPPCA. PH210x (Harvard), Dip in IT Management (Alison), MAPCR (USA), Dip in EU, Public Procurement (Belgium) Consultant in Medical Administration

Dr Rathnasiri A Hewage is a Medical Doctor qualified from University of Ruhuna, Sri Lanka and completed his internship in Sri Jayewardenepura General Hospital. He is a Consultant in Medical Administration. He started work as Divisional Director of Health Services of Balangoda. He completed his MSc in Medical Administration in 2002 and MD in Medical Administration in 2009 at Post Graduate Institute of Medicine, University of Colombo. He completed is post MD training at Health Science Department of California State University Long Beach, CA, USA. He has experience as Performance Improvement fellow at Queen of the Valley Hospital, West Covina, CA, USA. He was the CEO/Director Lady Ridgeway Hospital for Children (LRH) from 2011 to 2014 after which he became the CEO/Director of The National Institute of Nephrology Dialysis Transplantation of Sri Lanka until he became the Permanent Director/ CEO of Sri Jayewardenepura General Hospital.

Deputy Director

Dr.Chandraguptha Ranasinghe
Designation Deputy Director – Sri Jayewardenepura General Hospital
Qualification MBBS,MSc (Med. Admin) PG Dip in Healthcare Quality and Patient Safety

Board of Directors

Mr. Chandrarathne Pallegama
Designation Additional Secretary - Ministry of Health
Dr. Asela Gunawardhana
Designation Director General of Health Services
Dr. Rathnasiri A. Hewage
Designation Director, Sri Jayawardenepura General Hospital
Prof. Senaka Rajapakse
Designation Director-Post Graduate Institute of Medicine
Dr. (Ms) C.C. Kariyawasam
Designation Consultant Haematologist - SJGH
Dr. H.R.Y. De Silva
Designation Consultant Cardiothoracic Surgeon - SJGH
Dr. W.G.R.C.K. Sirisena
Designation Consultant Surgeon- SJGH
Ms. K.A. Ramya Kanthi
Designation Treasury Representative
Dr. Wimal Karandagoda
Designation Board Member - SJGH
Mr. Rukmal Cooray
Designation Board Member SJGH

Middle Level Management

Mrs. A N Saputhanthri
Designation Chief Nursing Officer
Mrs. S Handapangoda
Designation Administrative Officer
Mr. D Totawatta
Designation Accountant
Mr. H A W Gunawardena
Designation Medical Records Officer
Mr. P G W M K Wijeratne
Designation Supplies Officer
Mr. A L Pallewela
Designation Biomedical Engineer
Mr. S D Victor
Designation Maintenance Engineer
Mrs. D S W Senanayake
Designation Matron